Main ceremony on the occasion of the Statehood Day and 20th Anniversary of Independence

Honorary speaker: Dr Danilo Türk, the President of the Republic of Slovenia (ADDRESS

President Danilo Türk hosted the presidents of Slovenia's four neighbours, Austria, Croatia, Hungary and Italy, at the ceremony.

 Poster (47 KB) (Slovenian only)

The ceremony:

The central state commemoration of the Statehood Day and the 20th anniversary of independent Slovenia was held at the Congress Square in Ljubljana on 24 June 2011.

The inaugural speaker was the president of the Republic of Slovenia, Danilo Türk, Ph.D.; after his speech, an artistic part of the state ceremony, titled PogUM (Courage), conceived and subscribed by the director Matjaž Berger and his co-workers, took place.

The ceremony of 20th anniversary of Slovenia’s statehood is placed in a symbolic space of the Ljubljana Congress Square and the University’s volume. Symbolic points of Slovenian spirit are lining the horizon where the statehood is articulated as a succession of solemn postures: dignity, honor, courage, love, utopia, creativeness, victory. Postures are mental gestures, they are poetic deeds and they are ethical bets – of individuals as well as of the community. Only such creative postures can give birth to positive principles that think of modern and future as a "principle of hope” (Ernst Bloch). Therefore, the high anniversary of a prudent and brave posture that gave birth to Slovenian statehood and sovereignty calls for new hopes of spirit and love utopias that will be able to think future landscapes of spirit and space of thought.

Therefore, the compliment to independence and sovereignty draws from the multitude of cultures and languages of art: literature, music, dancing, film, architecture, painting, sculpture, intermedia, performative and others.

Performing at the ceremony will be Slovenski oktet, Siddharta, Carmina Slovenica, Irena Yebuah Tiran, Pavle Ravnohrib, Borut Veselko, Petra Govc, Nana Milčinski, Jana Zupančič, Matej Recer, Nina Rakovec, Regina Križaj, Nadiya Bychkova, Miha Vodičar, Maša Kagao Knez, Katja Konvalinka, Marko Hatlak, Andreja Murn, Karmen Pečar, Leticia Slapnik Yebuah, Nejc Šurbek, Boštjan Gradišek, Katarina Štefanič, Brina Nataša Zupančič, Barbara Marič, Nik Rajšek, Beno Novak, Barbara Vuzem, Kim Kernand and others along with some Slovenian sports champions.


PHOTO GALLERY  -  Meeting of the Presidents of Slovenia, Croatia, Austria, Italy and Hungary on the occasion of the Statehood Day and 20th Anniversary of Independence, 24 June 2011 (Ljubljana Castle)

PHOTOS  (the evening ceremony and the meeting of the presidents)